Crypto Tax Software: How to Choose a Tool in 2026
Crypto tax software compared on pricing, free tiers, Form 8949 export, cost-basis methods and 1099-DA support, using vendors' own pricing pages.
Short answer: Crypto tax software imports your exchange and wallet history, works out gains and losses with a cost-basis method, and produces reports such as IRS Form 8949. To choose one, compare how each tool counts transactions, whether the free tier includes a report, one-time versus subscription pricing, cost-basis methods, tax-software exports and 1099-DA reconciliation.
Educational, not financial advice. Prices and features change; confirm on each official site before deciding.
Affiliate disclosure: Money Maker Toolz earns a commission if you buy through some links on this page. In this post, only the Koinly and CoinLedger links are affiliate links. CoinTracker, TokenTax, CoinTracking, Divly and Recap are not. This doesn't change what we report: every figure below comes from the vendor's own pricing page. See our disclosures.
Educational only, not tax, legal or financial advice. Prices were checked on vendors' own pages on Oct 22, 2026 (about 10:17–10:20 Israel time) and can change. Check the vendor page before you buy.
What does crypto tax software actually do?
Crypto tax software pulls in your transaction history from exchanges and wallets and turns it into gains, losses and tax forms. The main output for US filers is Form 8949 and Schedule D, which several vendors list on their pricing pages.
Most tools let you track a portfolio for free and charge when you need a downloadable tax report. Koinly, for example, says it is "Free to use until you need a report" (Koinly pricing).
You can get a rough sense of the numbers before choosing a tool with our free crypto tax calculator, and read the basics in our US crypto tax guide or UK guide.
Why does the 1099-DA matter for crypto tax software in 2026?
The IRS now requires custodial brokers (such as exchanges and hosted wallets) to report digital asset sales on Form 1099-DA. DeFi and non-custodial wallets are not covered by these broker rules. Per the IRS, "Brokers must report gross proceeds for transactions effected on or after January 1, 2025," and "Brokers must report basis on certain transactions effected on or after January 1, 2026" (IRS).
In practice, 2025 transactions were reported in 2026 with gross proceeds. Basis reporting covers certain transactions from 2026 onward (IRS).
For 2025 transactions reported in 2026, the IRS says it won't impose penalties on brokers who make good-faith efforts (Notice 2024-56). Rev. Proc. 2024-28 gives transition guidance for allocating unused basis to each wallet or account as of Jan 1, 2025 (same IRS page).
The IRS also lets brokers use optional de minimis aggregate reporting for certain stablecoin and NFT sales. On Jan 7, 2026 it published corrections to the 2025 Form 1099-DA instructions covering the de minimis rules and optional reporting methods (About Form 1099-DA).
Why it matters for software: a 1099-DA may not show everything. CoinTracker's pricing page notes that a 1099-DA "can miss the cost basis of crypto you transferred in" (CoinTracker pricing).
How does Form 8949 fit in?
The IRS describes Form 8949 this way: "Use Form 8949 to reconcile amounts that were reported to you and the IRS on Form 1099-B or 1099-S (or substitute statement) with the amounts you report on your return" (About Form 8949).
That IRS page names Form 1099-B and Form 1099-S. It does not name Form 1099-DA in that sentence, so check current IRS instructions or a tax professional for how 1099-DA amounts flow onto your return.
For a general overview of how the IRS treats digital assets, start at irs.gov/filing/digital-assets.
How do crypto tax tools compare on price and features?
The table below uses only what each vendor's own pricing page said on Oct 22, 2026. "Not stated" means the detail wasn't on the page we checked; it may appear elsewhere on the vendor's site.
| Tool | Pricing model | Entry paid tier | Free tier | Form 8949 | Tax software export | 1099-DA on pricing page | Countries |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Koinly (affiliate) | One-time per tax year | Newbie $49, 100 txns | Yes, no report | Yes (+ Schedule D) | TurboTax, TaxACT | Not stated | "more than 140 countries" |
| CoinLedger (affiliate) | One-time per tax report | Hobbyist $49, up to 100 txns | Portfolio tracking only | Yes | TurboTax Online & Desktop, TaxACT, H&R Block Desktop, TaxSlayer | Not stated | No count stated |
| CoinTracker | Annual, auto-renewing | Base $59, 100 txns | Yes, no tax forms | Yes (+ Schedule D) | TurboTax, H&R Block (paid) | "1099-DA reconciliation" (paid) | "40+ countries" |
| TokenTax | Per tax year | Basic $49, up to 100 txns | Not stated | Yes, or international report | TurboTax Online | Not stated | "any country" |
| CoinTracking | Annual (2-year, lifetime offered) | Starter $49 / €39, 200 txns* | Portfolio view only | Mentioned on homepage | Not stated | Not stated | "100+ countries" |
| Divly | One-off per tax year (EUR) | Essential €39** | Tracking only | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Recap | Annual subscription (GBP) | Basic £119/yr, up to 5,000 txns | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated (UK-branded) |
\ CoinTracking's page showed a "10% discount" banner in our session, so the displayed prices may be discounted. Undiscounted prices are not stated here. \* Divly prices change with a transaction selector; only the default selection's prices were captured.
What does each crypto tax tool's pricing page say?
Koinly
Koinly charges a one-time payment per tax year: Free $0 (up to 10,000 transactions tracked, no report), Newbie $49 (100 transactions), Hodler $99 (1,000) and Trader from $199 (3,000+). Above 10,000 transactions you buy 1,000-transaction top-ups in the app (Koinly pricing).
Koinly lists "DeFi & NFT support," unlimited wallets and exchange accounts, and cost-basis methods including FIFO, LIFO, Average Cost, ACB, Shared Pool, HIFO and wallet-based tracking (Spec ID). It offers a 7-day refund if you haven't generated a report.
Visit Koinly (affiliate link) · Koinly on Toolz
CoinLedger
CoinLedger charges one-time per tax report, for any year from 2010 to 2025: Portfolio Tracking $0 (no report), Hobbyist $49 (up to 100 transactions), Investor $99 (up to 1,000) and Pro $199+ (3,000+). Each tier shows "Micro-Transactions: 100" for staking, interest and small payouts (CoinLedger pricing).
CoinLedger claims "1,000+ integrations," supports DeFi and NFTs, and lists FIFO, LIFO, HIFO and Adjusted Cost "& more." It offers a 14-day money-back guarantee.
Visit CoinLedger (affiliate link) · CoinLedger on Toolz
CoinTracker
CoinTracker is an annual, auto-renewing plan priced on this tax year's transactions: Base $59 (100), Base+ $99 (250), Prime $199 (1,000), Prime+ $299 (2,500), Ultra $499 (10,000) and Ultra+ $999 (25,000). Higher volume starts at $1,999 and Full Service at $3,499 (CoinTracker pricing).
It is the only tool in this list whose pricing page states "1099-DA reconciliation" (paid plans). It claims "500+ integrations" and "40+ countries," with refunds within 30 days if you haven't downloaded forms. Its page is inconsistent on DeFi: one FAQ says yes, another says DeFi positions need a paid plan.
TokenTax
TokenTax prices per tax year: Basic $49 (up to 100 transactions), Premium $199 (up to 5,000), Pro $1,999 (up to 20,000), VIP $3,499 (up to 30,000 CEX transactions) and Enterprise custom (TokenTax pricing). A free tier is not stated.
It lists DeFi and NFT support on all plans; FIFO, LIFO and specific ID, plus average cost for UK and Canadian filers; and "IRS Form 8949 or relevant international report" with a TurboTax Online integration.
CoinTracking
CoinTracking bills annually: Free (portfolio view), Starter $49 / €39 (200 transactions), Pro $169 / €129 (3,500), Expert $259 / €219 and Unlimited $899 / €769 (CoinTracking pricing). Our session showed a 10% discount banner, so undiscounted prices are not stated.
It claims "400+ exchanges & wallets," "DeFi & NFT" on all plans and "100+ countries." Named cost-basis methods and a TurboTax export are not stated on the pages we checked; its homepage mentions "IRS Form 8949, Schedule D" (CoinTracking).
Divly
Divly charges a one-off payment per tax year in euros: Free (tracking up to 25,000 transactions), Essential €39, Peace of Mind €99 and Full Service €599 at the default transaction selection (Divly pricing).
Cost-basis methods, Form 8949, TurboTax export, 1099-DA and supported countries are not stated on its pricing page. Its page says "Tax report made for your country."
Recap
Recap is an annual subscription in pounds: Basic £119 per year (up to 5,000 transactions), Pro £219 (unlimited) and Company £349 excluding VAT, with a 30-day money-back guarantee (Recap pricing).
A free plan, NFT support, individual cost-basis methods, Form 8949, TurboTax and countries are not stated. The page is UK-branded ("Proudly built in the UK").
How should you count your transactions before choosing?
Every vendor counts transactions differently, and the count decides your price tier. Check your history against each tool's own rules before paying.
CoinLedger shows a separate "Micro-Transactions: 100" allowance for staking, interest and small payouts (CoinLedger). CoinTracker doesn't count spam and dust, excludes staking and interest from Prime up, and applies a 200,000 lifetime limit on Base through Ultra (CoinTracker).
Koinly's free plan tracks up to 10,000 transactions, and Divly's free plan tracks up to 25,000. Neither free plan includes a tax report.
Is one-time pricing or a subscription better for you?
Koinly, CoinLedger, TokenTax and Divly price per tax year or per report, according to their pages. CoinTracker, CoinTracking and Recap use annual subscriptions, and CoinTracker's renews automatically.
If you only need one year's report, a per-year price can be simpler to budget. If you trade every year, compare what you'd pay over several years, and note TokenTax's add-on of 10% off multi-year purchases.
Which cost-basis methods should a crypto tax tool support?
Your cost-basis method decides which coins are treated as sold, which changes your gain or loss. Tools vary: Koinly lists seven methods on its page (FIFO, LIFO, Average Cost, ACB, Shared Pool, HIFO and Spec ID), while CoinTracker offers FIFO, HIFO and LIFO by wallet and year on Ultra and up.
Divly and Recap (for individuals) don't state methods on their pricing pages. Ask a tax professional which method applies to you before relying on any tool's default.
Does the tool fit your country?
Country fit varies. Koinly says its clients come from "more than 140 countries," CoinTracker says "40+ countries," CoinTracking "100+ countries," and TokenTax says it "calculates capital gains and losses for any country."
Divly prices in euros and Recap is UK-branded, but neither page states supported countries, so verify before buying. CoinLedger publishes tax guides for many countries, but those are guides, not a list of supported countries.
What should you check before you pay?
- Export or count your transactions using the vendor's own counting rules.
- Try the free tier and confirm your exchanges and wallets import correctly.
- Confirm the report you need (Form 8949, Schedule D or a local report) is on your tier.
- Check the tax-software export you plan to use.
- If you received a 1099-DA, check whether the tool says it reconciles one.
- Read the refund terms: Koinly 7 days if no report generated, CoinLedger 14 days, CoinTracker 30 days if no forms downloaded, Recap 30 days.
Browse all options in our crypto tax tools category or the side-by-side Koinly vs CoinLedger comparison.
FAQ
Is there free crypto tax software?
Several tools have free tiers for tracking, but the pages we checked put tax reports behind a paid plan. Koinly, CoinLedger, CoinTracker, CoinTracking and Divly each list a $0 or €0 tracking option.
Which crypto tax software supports the 1099-DA?
Among the seven tools here, only CoinTracker's pricing page states "1099-DA reconciliation" (paid plans). For Koinly, CoinLedger, TokenTax, CoinTracking, Divly and Recap, 1099-DA support is not stated on the pages we checked.
Can crypto tax software export to TurboTax?
Koinly, CoinLedger, CoinTracker and TokenTax list TurboTax on their pricing pages. CoinTracking, Divly and Recap don't state it on the pages we checked.
What is the difference between a crypto tax calculator and crypto tax software?
A calculator gives a quick estimate from numbers you type in, like our crypto tax calculator. Software imports your full history and produces tax forms.
Does crypto tax software work in the UK?
Recap is UK-branded, and TokenTax lists average cost basis for UK filers. Koinly names the UK among its client countries. Check each vendor for your specific reporting needs.
Do I still need an accountant?
Software does the math, not the judgment. TokenTax sells full filing and consultation add-ons. For your own situation, a qualified tax professional is the right source.
---
Risk and tax disclosure: This article is for education only and is not tax, legal or financial advice. Crypto assets are volatile and you can lose money. Tax rules vary by country and change over time; confirm your obligations with the IRS or your local tax authority, or a qualified professional. Prices and features come from vendors' own pages on Oct 22, 2026 and may have changed. Money Maker Toolz earns commissions from Koinly and CoinLedger links; see our disclosures.
Citations
- koinly.io/pricing/
- www.irs.gov/newsroom/final-regulations-and-related-irs-guidance-for-reporting-by-brokers-on-sales-and-exchanges-of-digital-assets
- www.irs.gov/forms-pubs/about-form-1099-da
- www.cointracker.io/pricing
- www.irs.gov/forms-pubs/about-form-8949
- www.irs.gov/filing/digital-assets
- coinledger.io/pricing
- tokentax.co/pricing
- cointracking.info/pricing
- cointracking.info/
- divly.com/pricing
- recap.io/pricing

